Talukas of Goa. Talukas in purple shades belong to North Goa district, and orange denote South Goa district.
The state is divided into two districts: North Goa and South Goa. Each district is governed by a district collector, an administrator appointed by the Indian government.

North Goa
Panaji is the headquarters of North Goa district.

North Goa is further divided into four subdivisions – Panaji, Bicholim, Mapusa and Ponda; and six taluks – Tiswadi (Panaji), Bardez (Mapusa), Pernem, Bicholim,Sattari (Valpoi), and Ponda.

South Goa
Margao is the headquarters of South Goa district.
South Goa is further divided into three subdivisions – Margao, Mormugao (Vasco da Gama), and Quepem; and six taluks – Mormugao, Salcete (Margao),Quepem, Canacona (Chaudi), Sanguem, and Dharbandora.
Goa’s major cities include Vasco da Gama, Margao, Panaji, Mapusa and Ponda.
Municipal Corporation (1): Panaji
Municipal Councils (13): Margao, Mormugao (including Vasco da Gama), Pernem, Mapusa, Bicholim, Sanquelim, Valpoi, Ponda, Cuncolim, Quepem, Curchorem, Sanguem, and Canacona.